Service above self': 
On October 12, 2017, Texarkana Wilbur Smith Rotary Club, Oaklawn Rotary Club, Sunrise Rotary Club and International Rotary Club had their 37th Annual Public Safety Officer Appreciation Luncheon.  This special event was founded by the late, Texarkana Rotarian Cecil Phillips.   This year's Rotary International Theme is “Making A Difference” and all the First Responders make a difference every day.   The 2017 Public Safety Officers of the Year were: Texarkana,Texas Fire Department, Firefighter John Taylor; Texarkana, Arkansas Fire Department Captain Ray West; Bowie County Sheriff’s Department Deputy Randall Baggett; Miller County Sheriff’s Department Investigator Thomas Whitt; Texarkana, Texas Police Department Officer Cliff Harris; Texarkana, Arkansas Police Department Officer Nathan Lavender; Arkansas State Police Trooper First Class Ernesto Echevarria; Texas Department of Public Safety Trooper Stephen Munger and Trooper Chad Turner.  
There were approximately 300 in attendance with the Keynote Speaker Senator Bryan Hughes.  Each Officer of the Year received a special award from LifeNet and a gift basket from the 4 Rotary Clubs.
District Governor Elect Judy Guthrie was present to represent District 5830 Leadership Team. 
Two Fallen Heroes were also honored; Texas Department of Public Safety Trooper Jeff Nichols; Miller County Sheriff’s Office Detention Supervisor Lisa Mauldin.  Texarkana, Texas .
Mayor Bob Bruggeman and Texarkana, Arkansas Mayor Ruth Penney Bell presented the Officers of the Year Awards.